a little infinity: reading the fault in our stars

Alright. This week I read a book I became so emotionally invested in that on Wednesday morning, rather than getting up, getting dressed and doing my homework like a responsible adult, I spent from 8am until 12pm huddled in bed, a box of tissues by my side and my trusty stuffed animal, Beast, curled up under my chin. Needless to say, The Fault in our Stars was a brilliant read.

Initially, I wasn’t going to review this book as I got so attached so quickly, and had little to no words on how to describe my reading experience, the first few days my best response being ‘There are no words. Just read it!’. However, the lack of finishing another book and a more comprehensive vocabulary has forced me into the review ahead.

I don’t want to talk about any of the plot because I don’t want any spoilers, the movie on its way to the cinema and all. But also the book was such an impressive and well-crafted read, I think it is unfair on both the readers and John Green to give anything away. So if you are after a plot overview, read the blurb or Google it.

I will admit to you, dear readers, I went into the book with no expectations or warning (and to my vlogging housemates horror, didn’t even know who John Green was) but send you away with one. While a beautiful and amazing book, it is also tear-jerking and heart-wrenching, so if you aren’t ready for a good cry or don’t have a sneaky box of tissues lying around, go out and get some when you pick up a copy.  It is a book that stays with you after you turn the final page.

The most amazing thing about the book for me was the well-developed characters. Throughout the entire book, I didn’t once question whether a character would really behave like that, or if the dialogue sounded like how that person should talk, or even if a certain character would have that kind of fashion sense. Even the simplest characters with the least amount of impact on the plot were fully formed, three dimensional characters.

I think this is easily the greatest achievement of the book, in that, even though the experiences of the characters might not be relatable to you, or distanced from you as a reader, there is an instant connection with every character in the book. And that’s what makes the book emotional and fulfilling.

The book was a beautiful surprise in all ways, easily exceeding my expectations in every facet. It made me experience a range of emotions that I don’t think I’ve fully come to terms with yet and is the first book in a long time to make me read about half in one day. I don’t want to oversell it, and I still think the best review I can give is ‘There are no words. Just read it!’

From your internet friend who is now just a little bit more emotionally crippled but easily better for it,

The Cat

 

Leave a Reply

